Coronavirus Update: SVC is still open! Please click here for the latest information and news from our team.

Equality Act 2010

Last Updated: August 2020

The Equality Act 2010 legally protects people from discrimination in the workplace and in wider society. It sets out the different ways in which it is unlawful to treat someone. The Equality Act has specified nine areas that are termed in the legislation as protected characteristics. These include (in no particular order):

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Marriage and civil partnership
  5. Pregnancy and maternity
  6. Race
  7. Religion or belief
  8. Sex
  9. Sexual orientation


Equality Human Rights Website (2019) What is the Equality Act? Available at:

Gov.UK Website (2015) Equality Act 2010: Guidance. Available at: