Coronavirus Update: SVC is still open! Please click here for the latest information and news from our team.

Protected Characteristics

Last Updated: August 2020

Please select each characteristic on this page for more information about the nine protected characteristics under the Equality Act 2010 and SVC's Equality Diversity and Inclusion Commitments.

The pages outlining the nine protected characteristics use terms from the Equality Act 2010. SVC recognises that although the language used refers to the Equality Act 2010, we recognise that people may use more up to date terms in the way they self-define or the way that communities choose to define themselves. Additionally, SVC understands the importance of intersectionality and recognises that an individual can face discrimination based on multiple protected characteristics. Despite the existence of the Equality Act 2010, SVC recognises that discrimination still exists.

  1. Age
  2. Disability
  3. Gender reassignment
  4. Marriage and civil partnership
  5. Pregnancy and maternity
  6. Race
  7. Religion or belief
  8. Sex
  9. Sexual orientation